Skip Navigation

Health Disparities Research Contacts in DCCPS

View a printer friendly version.

Staff Name /
Contact Information

Areas of Interest

Shobha Srinivasan
Ss688k@nih.gov
240-276-6938
  • Social determinants of health
  • Policy and social justice
  • Health care access and utilization
  • Small populations
Tanya Agurs-Collins
collinsta@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6956
  • Racial differences in biological and lifestyle factors that influence hormone-dependent cancers
  • Behavioral genetics, gene-environment interactions, and obesity risk
  • Diet and obesity risk in minority populations
Catherine Alfano
alfanoc@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6736
  • Biopsychosocial determinants of cancer survivorship disparities
  • Social ecological model of health behavior change
  • Policies affecting outcomes in cancer survivors
  • Social justice
Audie Atienza
atienzaa@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6715
  • Behavioral medicine
  • Aging
  • Real-time measures and health informatics
David Berrigan
berrigad@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6752
  • Acculturation and health behaviors
  • Built environment and physical activity
  • Understanding race/ethnic responses to survey questions
  • Measurement of physical activity
Kelly Blake
kelly.blake@nih.gov
240-281-5934
  • Communication inequality
  • Knowledge gaps
  • Social epidemiology
  • Social determinants of health
  • Social policy
Michele Bloch
blochm@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6878
  • Tobacco control and prevention for women and girls
  • Tobacco use in developing (low- and middle-income) nations, especially among women and girls
Nancy Breen
breenn@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6892
  • Social determinants of health and health care disparities
  • Cancer screening
  • Cancer control surveillance systems
Erica Breslau
breslaue@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6773
  • Remedying health disparities in breast, cervical, and colorectal cancers
  • Dissemination of evidence-based cancer screening interventions
  • Health literacy
  • Social networks
  • System science
Charlisse Caga-Anan
charlisse.caga-anan@nih.gov

240-276-6738

  • Ethics and regulation of human research, genomics/genetics research, and clinical genetics/genomics practice
  • Genomic data sharing
  • Health law and bioethics
Veronica Chollette
cholletv@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6969
  • Cancer screening
Wen-ying Sylvia Chou
chouws@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6954
  • Immigrant health (health and immigration reform)
  • Health and human rights
  • Mixed methods and systems approach
  • Health literacy
  • Global burden of disease
Kathy Cronin
cronink@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6836
  • Developing health objectives
  • Measuring health disparities
  • Monitoring health outcomes
Rao Divi (Mahesh)
divir@exchange.nih.gov
240-276-6913
  • Molecular analysis/phenotyping
  • Exposomic and metabolomic differences
  • Effect of exposures on epigenome
  • Infection and inflammation
Brenda Edwards
edwardsb@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6722
  • Surveillance research on measures of social and economic differences in cancer patterns (incidence, mortality, survival, outcomes)
Gary Ellison
ellisong@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6783
  • Occupational and environmental risks for cancer
  • Social determinants of health
  • Epidemiology of prostate cancer
Eric “Rocky” Feuer
feuerr@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6772
  • Impact of reducing health disparities on population incidence and mortality trends
  • Geographic health disparities
Elizabeth Ginexi
LGinexi@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6765
  • State and community tobacco control policy and media interventions
  • Community-based etiology and prevention research
  • System science methods applied to behavioral research
Bradford Hesse
hesseb@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6721
  • Health communication
  • Public health informatics
  • Patient-centered support environments
Annette Kaufman
kaufmana@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6706
  • Youth and young adult tobacco use
  • Tobacco and health disparities
  • Risk perception and policy
Erin Kent

erin.kent@nih.gov
240-276-6776

  • Social epidemiology
  • Cancer patient-reported outcomes
  • Mixed-methods research
  • Social support and care giving

Sarah Kobrin
kobrins@mail.nih.gov
(240) 276-6831

  • Decision making in clinical settings
  • Cancer screening behavior
  • Health behavior theory in applied research
  • HPV vaccine and testing behavior
Sue Krebs-Smith
krebssms@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6949
  • Risk factor monitoring, with an emphasis on diet, weight, and physical activity

Gabriel Lai
laigy@mail.nih.gov
240-276-7201

  • Lifestyle factors (e.g., diet, obesity, diabetes, and energy metabolism) that affect cancer risk and etiology
  • Disparities in the US and other countries
  • Cohorts and consortia in cancer epidemiology

Tram Lam
lamt@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6967

  • Understudied populations (extending beyond minorities)
  • Gene-environment interactions
  • Knowledge integration and multi-level approaches on cancer epidemiologic research to accelerate discovery findings towards translational impact

Stephanie Land
stephanie.land@nih.gov
(240) 276-6946

  • Tobacco use in American Indian/Alaska Native populations  
Damali Martin
martinda@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6746
  • Disparities in cancer incidence and survival
  • Gene-environment interactions in breast and prostate cancer
  • Tumor biology microenvironment
Paige McDonald
mcdonalp@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6899
  • Mechanisms and interactions of psychosocial and behavioral factors, neural and endocrine function, and immune system processes
Robin McKinnon
mckinnonr@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6921
  • Policy research related to diet, activity, and weight
  • Economics of obesity
  • Measurement of the food and built environments
  • Underserved populations
  • Intersection between sustainable and healthy design
Glen Morgan
gmorgan@nih.gov
240-276-6787
  • Smoking cessation
  • Smoking and negative affect
  • Tobacco use etiology
Rick Moser
moserr@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6915
  • Methodology
  • Statistics
Wendy Nelson
nelsonw@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6971
  • Decision making
  • Decision support
  • Numeracy
  • Literacy
  • Risk perception
  • Ethics

April Oh
April.oh@nih.gov
240-276-6709

  • Social determinants of health
  • Obesity prevention
  • Contextual influences on health behaviors
  • Community health promotion
Mark Parascandola
Paramark@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6871
  • Tobacco use among Alaska Natives
  • Smokeless tobacco use
  • International tobacco control
Frank Perna
pernafm@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6782
  • Physical activity intervention design and selection of mediators
  • Exercise effects on fitness, physiological outcomes, and psychosocial outcomes
  • Physical activity and nutrition policies affecting schools and school-aged children
Irene Prabhu Das
prabhudasi@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6799
  • Cancer screening and followup of abnormal screening results
  • Health literacy and patient-provider communication
  • Low-income (SES) groups, ethnic minority women
Britt Reid
reidbr@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6725
  • Household air pollution from solid fuel combustion
  • Climate change and vulnerable populations
Sheri Schully
schullys@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6936
  • Epidemiologic and genetics research
  • Gene-environment interactions
  • Risk factors
Ashley Wilder Smith
smithas@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6714
  • Health and lifestyle behaviors
  • Health-related quality of life
  • Adolescent and young adult cancer survivors
  • Quality of care and health services of young cancer survivors
Stephen Taplin
taplins@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6947
  • Cancer screening implementation through Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • Delivery and quality of breast cancer screening
  • Multilevel contextual influences on cancer care
  • Cancer care and primary care
Zaria Tatalovich
tatalovichzp@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6976
  • Geo-spatial modeling, analysis, and visualization
  • Environmental exposures
  • Built environment
  • Contextual environments
  • Disease patterns
Mukesh Verma
vermam@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6889
  • Genetic and epigenetic susceptibility differences between ethnic populations
  • Ethnic differences in HPV strain types/infection prevalence
  • Biomarkers of risk assessment in ethnic populations

Cindy Vinson
cvinson@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6745

  • Dissemination and implementation in clinical and public health settings
  • Utilization of communities of practice for translation of research into practice
  • Cancer control planning, implementation, and evaluation, both domestically and internationally

Joanne Waters
joanne.elena@nih.gov
240.276.6818

  • Dietary and lifestyle risk factors related to cancer progression, recurrence, and survival outcomes
Debbie Winn
winnde@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6755
  • Methods of cancer surveillance among indigenous populations
  • Ethnic and cultural differences in cancer risks
  • Geographic variations in cancer risks
Robin Yabroff
yabroffr@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6832
  • Access to care
  • Quality of care
  • Health services research
  • Economic burden of cancer
Krista Zanetti
zanettik@mail.nih.gov
240-276-6843
  • Biological determinants of health disparities
  • Genetic susceptibility to cancer risk
  • Disparities in cancer incidence and survival